The End

Today is Sunday. It is raining. I am alone in our home. My kids are not with me. They are with their mother.

I supposed to go to Sunday Service. I slept late last night. It was actually morning already. It was 2:30 AM.

I woke up around 9AM and after reading Psalm 22 as my prayer and eating my breakfast at the same time, I opened my computer. I read my emails, visited my blog, read other blogs, and shared to my social networks the things, which I consider helpful.

Then I started to read for the third time the ebook by John Milton Fogg, The Greatest Networker In The World. My intention is to write my own reflection of the book to post it in this blog, Christian Entrepreneur.

So I started reading.

I did not just read. I listened. Is it possible to listen to a printed page? Yes, it is.

The book is very unusual and so is the story in it. The title of Chapter 1 is The End. What an unusual beginning. The style of the writer is very different from the usual ones.

Let me share my reflection in reading the book.

The man who is called The Greatest Networker appears to have a natural and unusual talent in listening to people. He is very warm. His smile and laughter are also unusual. His presence has a way of changing the feeling of the people around him. He has an unusual concern for people. He appears to be a friend of everyone.

He is also a great motivator and encourager. He is interested in the details of people’s lives. He has an unusual memory of personal matters among his acquaintances. He knows how to bring the best out of people, the best that is hidden inside.

He asked unusual questions, questions, which are both “disarming” and intimidating and at the same time, comforting and reassuring. He asked questions, which pertain to one’s purpose in life. He seems to have a different set of eyes and ears. He sees things and hears words from a different lens.

The Greatest Networker met the author of this book at The End of his life. I think, that is the reason why the author gave such title to this opening chapter. The author was in his 12 o’clock, a term used for people who are fed up with the monotony of their lives and thinking, “Is this it? Is this everything in life? I am tired of many things. I want to break out from this rut.”

This 12 o’clock man confessed that he was tired of what he had been doing. He was about to give up and that meeting in the hotel would be his last business meeting.

He tried to absorb all the teachings of those positive mental attitude books. He went with the flow of doing his business. But nothing happened.

The good thing is that in the providence of God, the Greatest Networker met this 12 o’clock man. And he is willing to be with him, to listen to him, and to spend time knowing him.

The meeting ended with the Greatest Networker giving a book to the 12 o’clock man as his assigned reading before their first meeting to show him the way to do the business. The book was a blank book. It has an unusual title. What You Don’t Know That You Don’t Know

A Personal Assessment 

As a Christian entrepreneur, listening to the content of the first chapter of The Greatest Networker caused me to think about the kind of person I must be in order to succeed in this business. Networking, as popularly misunderstood is not a quick rich scheme. It is a way of being.

Reading this book shows me that to be successful in this business, a person has to live a different way of being. And that is both overwhelming and intimidating if you are not a people-oriented type of person.

Electronic Copy of the Book

Read for yourself the copy of this ebook, which claims to have told “The story that has changed millions of people’s lives for the better forever.” And the question is asked, “Will it change yours…?”

http://johnmiltonfogg.com/TGNBook.pdf

Leave a comment